DoD 8570.1M

Government personnel working in IA functions are required to obtain and maintain one of the certifications required for their position category/specialty listed below. Personnel can obtain more than one certification per level and a certification may apply to more than one level. IAT and IAM certifications listed in Levels II and III can be used to satisfy the requirements of a Level I position, however a Level I certification can not be used to satisfy the requirements of a Level II or III position unless the certification is also listed in the Level I requirements. For example, the CompTIA A+ and Network+ certification only satisfy the requirements for Technical Level I positions and therefore cannot be used to satisfy the requirements for Levels II and III. SSCP certification on the other hand is listed under IAT Level I and IAT Level II, a person moving from an IAT Level I position to an IAT Level II position will not need to achieve a new certification. The SSCP certification will satisfy the requirements of the new position.

Higher level CSSP and IASAE certification cannot be used to satisfy the requirements of lower level certifications.

Are you looking to register for an 8570.1 training course? XtremeLabs can help.

Certification Name

CompTIA A+

CompTIA Security+

CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner (CASP+)

CompTIA Network+

CompTIA Cybersecurity Analyst (CySA+)​

Cisco Certified Network Associate-Cyber Ops (CCNA-Cyber Ops)

Cisco Certified Network Associate-Security (CCNA-Security)​

Cisco Certified Network Professional-Security (CCNP-Security)​

Cybersecurity Specialty Certification (SCYBER)​

GIAC Global Industrial Cyber Security Professional (GICSP)​

GIAC Security Essentials Certification (GSEC)

GIAC Security Leadership Certificate (GSLC)

GIAC Systems and Network Auditor (GSNA)

CyberSec First Responder (CFR)​

For more information on DoD 8570 certifications, click here!

Don’t see what you’re looking for, contact our Sales Team!